George can Read!

I got to confess that I’m not a very diligent mum. While many parents would have done flash cards while their kids were still babies and probably sending their kids to phonics class and reading to them regularly, perhaps daily before sleep, I’ve been doing practically nothing much to help my kids pick up reading and writing early. Other than the once-in-a-while Thomas and Friends’ bedtime stories. Therefore, this came as a surprise during one of the Teacher-Parents Meeting, when his form teacher actually brought up matter-of-factly that George can read a sentence all by himself.

Few months ago, their teachers were recommending some of the story books that we can buy to aid the kids in learning to read. The Ladybird series was the one I bought. And as with every new purchase, I enthusiastically read and repeated to him almost every night, before the excitement died down few weeks later. Just last night, I brought out those story books again to test on him, and boy! I was so happy and beemed with pride as I heard him read the whole book to me.

As with all parents, we’ll naturally be excited over each and every milestone that our kids made. So pardon me, as I shared the below video with pride…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment