Ah Gong, Thank you for your Love!

We just lost grandpa 3 wks ago and it was all so sudden. He had a fall at home 1 of those days, and when I received the news from my mum, I just thought that he would be able to recover and be discharged from hospital as he had been a strong man with a tough physique.

Went to the hospital that night, but was told to go home, as he was going through a CT Scan and that would take sometime. I didn’t know that I never had another chance to meet and speak to him again. The next morning, he went into a coma, and was gone 4-5 days later.

Ah Gong had always been a person whom we were close to since young. Though not staying together, our childhood days had memories of him visiting our house often, teasing us by pulling our ears, itching our hands with his then mustache, pulling down my brother’s shorts when he was a child (Javier and George are not spared either). I remembered he loved eating Curry Mixed Veg and tomatoes. And because he kept walking around in shorts, baring his lean and scrawny body, we kept teasing him if he had just come back from a swim.

He had lived to a ripe old age of 84. However, because it was just like yesterday that we sat down and had dinner together on the 1st day of CNY (still remembered he ate my mum’s specialty prawns), I still couldn’t believe that he’s no longer around.

We miss him tremendously. Even for George, he kept asking me why ‘Tai Gong’, as he would have called him, was sleeping in the ‘box’, all throughout the wake. We told him that ‘Tai Gong’ has gone to heaven and is now taken care by Jesus. You can imagine the many ‘Why'(s) that he kept asking after that. And just yesterday night, he asked me again when ‘Tai Gong’ will come back. ‘Why Tai Gong go to heaven? DId he become an angel? Does he have wings?’ Perhaps to him, he thought that my grandpa had gone for a long vacation. 

Image

 

This was me sitting on my Ah Gong’s chest during my younger days. Memories like this will be forever etched in my mind…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment