Where has Singa the Courtesy Lion Gone to?

Image

It’s quite amusing to know what the netizens have been raving about recently. And that the headlines of TNP (not surprising), actually writes about the MRT saga between a young lady and a middle-aged auntie. These would usually just passed off as articles to feed my hunger for juicy gossip news, until I personally experienced unpleasant discourteous people within 1 week.

Case #1:

I was having a quick lunch at Tea Loft (ION) one afternoon. It was super packed and there were these 2 particular young ladies who were carrying their tray of drinks and food and waiting for an empty seat. Seeing that the lady at my right was sipping her cup of tea and watching drama on her iPad, and this couple at my left was sharing a cup of tea and chit-chatting away, I quickly gobbled up my Mee Rebus and slurpped up my cup of tea and made intention to leave (Not that I was a saint, but I was rushing for time anyway). Before I could make my way out of the seat, these 2 ladies rushed towards me ‘enthusiastically’ and placed their trays and bags on my table. I even had to say ‘Excuse Me’, to make my way out.

Case #2:

I was pushing my pram along a crowded corridor at Vivocity one Sat. Seeing that the lane in front of me was clear, I proceeded on and walked forward. A lady who was walking towards me, suddenly stopped and made an attempt to turn back (she probably saw something on sale)… I collided onto her, and quickly checked to see if my son (who was sleeping in the pram) was ok. Before I could say anything, she raved at me saying, ‘Ni bu hui jiang ‘Sorry’ ah?’ (Meaning can’t you say ‘Sorry’?)

I think people nowadays are always demanding their rights… The rights to be treated well, to be treated correctly, to be treated better. I believe discourteous people already exist since day 1. There is nothing new under the sun. The world’s an imperfect place. Unreasonable people will somehow exist on this earth, because of their upbringing, the culture they live in or come from, the incidents that happened in their life that made them who they are now. So chill…. Despite of how rude or impolite others treat you, I think we should still let ‘courtesy be a way of our life.’

Case #3 (Positive One):

Me and my colleagues were driving out for lunch, when we should have made a left turn, but didn’t. The traffic light turned red, and my colleague was making a signal to cut into the left lane. The car behind us on the left stopped a distance away, to give way to us. This courteous act made all 4 of us exclaim in awe. ‘It’s so rare to see such a driver nowadays…’ And all 4 of us agreed. I’m sure he has impacted us someway or another.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment